Suffolk and Pub History in progress

Search UK, and London. Try the NEW London 1832 street directory

History of Suffolk - Rendham 1865

Post Office Directory of 1865.

For a considerable more detail and Suffolk Pubs, visit my other historical Pub sites, including Suffolk Villages & Towns

RENDHAM is a small and picturesque village and parish, in Plomesgate hundred and union, Framlingham and Saxmundham county court district, rural deanery of Orford, archdeaconry of Sudbury, and Norwich diocese, East Suffolk, 80 miles from London, 2 ½ , north-west from Saxmundham, and 5 from Framlingham. The village is situated in the fertile vale of the river Alde. The church of St. Michael, a small building, was restored in 1852: it has a fine carved oak roof: here was discovered an ancient piscina in perfect preservation, and staircase: the pulpit is composed of richly carved oak, and bears the date of 1632: the tower is a Hint building, containing 5 bells, and seemingly of Saxon origin. The registers date from 1550. The living is an impropriate vicarage, value £96 per annum, in the gift of trustees, and held by the Rev. Charles H. Marriott, M.A. The great tithes were sold to the landowners some years since. There is a school built by subscription in 1841, in the Gothic style of architecture; the present number of boys and girls instructed amounts to nearly 100. There is a large endowed Independent chapel near the village, with a spacious burying ground, and the house of the minister is adjacent. In 1704, Thomas Nellie, Esq., left a yearly rent-charge of £2 10s. on lands in Bramfield for the support of n Free school for poor children, and 10s. per annum to find them books. The principal proprietors are Lord Rendlesham, the Earl of Stradbroke, Mrs. Bloomfield, Thomas Bruce, Esq., Rev. Edward Peacock, and Rev. Mr. Collett; the lord of the manor is John Crabtree, Esq. The population in 1861 was 384, and the area is 1,721 acres.
Pariah Clerk, George Cooper.
POST OFFICE.—John Andrews, postmaster. Letters arrive from Saxmundham at 7 a.m. & the return bag for Sax
mundham is closed at 6.30 p.m. The nearest money order office is at Saxmundham
National School, Mrs. Sarah Row, mistress

Garrett Capt. Robert, Hill house
Hinde Rev. George [Independent]
Marriott Rev. Charles H. M.A.Vicarage
Pallant John, esq
Andrews John, shopkeeper
Barhnm Henry, bricklayer
Bendall Edward, farmer
Bicker Samuel, butcher
Boast William, wheelwright
Bruce Thomas, farmer
Button William, shopkeeper
Cooper George, jun. blacksmith
Cooper George, sen. bricklayer
Cross James, farmer
Daniel Henry, shoemaker
Fairs George, farmer
Girling Thomas, farmer & valuer
Gooch John, farmer
Harsant John, tailor & shopkeeper
Meadows John, farmer
Moore Fenn, farmer
Pallant James, tailor
Pendle John, market gardener
Row William, farmer & seed merchant
Self George, shoe maker
Self Stephen, gardener
Skinner Charles, farmer
Stanton Robert, farmer
Studd James, carpenter
Whitmore John, White Horse

And Last updated on: Thursday, 08-Feb-2018 10:17:17 GMT